

BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS AND LAND SURVEYORS

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

DATE: November 22, 2021

TIME: 4:00 p.m.

LOCATION: WebEx

ATTENDANCE:

Board Members

Marjorie Lund, PE, SE, Chair

Doug Hendrickson, PE, Vice Chair

Aaron Blaisdell, PLS

Nirmala Gnanapragasam, Ph.D, PE

Dave Peden, PE, SE Ivan VanDeWege, PE

James Wengler, PLS, CFedS

Staff Members

Elizabeth Lagerberg, Advising AAG

Ken Fuller, PE, Director

Carmena Moretti, Executive Assistant

Shanan Gillespie, Regulatory Program Manager Jill Short, Investigations & Compliance Manager

Vonna Cramer, Licensing Lead

Guests

Cody Hart, PE

Dan Ferguson, PE, Department of Ecology

Kai Cao, PE

Kenneth McGowan, PE

Mike McEvilly, PLS, LSAW Legislative Committee Chair

Patrick Beehler, PLS, DNR Chief Surveyor, LSAW Legislative Committee Vice Chair

Ryan Vicente, PE, Department of Ecology

Sharon Zimmerman, PE

Van Collins, CEO ACEC Washington

1. Call to Order at 4:00 p.m.

1.1 Roll Call

Ms. Lund, Board Chair, took roll call.

1.2 Order of Agenda

A motion was made by Mr. Hendrickson, and seconded by Ms. Gnanapragasam, to accept the agenda. Motion carried.

1.3 Approval of Meeting Minutes

A motion was made by Mr. Wengler, and seconded by Mr. Blaisdell, to accept the October 21, 2021 meeting minutes as written. Motion carried.

2. New Business

2.1 RCW 18.43 Recommendation (from PC)

Mr. Hendrickson provided an overview of proposed revisions to Chapter 18.43 RCW – Engineers and Land Surveyors. The PC will be responsible for reviewing and developing proposed language changes; identifying areas that are appropriate for other committee involvement; and setting up work sessions with stakeholders.

Ms. Lund, Board Chair, directed the PC to continue working on this matter and to provide a progress report and a list of next steps for stakeholder engagement at the December board meeting.

3. Other Business

3.1 Public Comment

The following provided public comments to the Board:

- 1. Kenneth McGowan, PE
- 2. Cody Hart, PE
- 3. Kai Cao, PE
- 4. Ryan Vicente, PE, Department of Ecology
- 5. Sharon Zimmerman, PE
- 6. Van Collins, CEO ACEC Washington

4. Adjourn Meeting

A motion was made by Mr. Blaisdell, and seconded by Ms. Gnanapragasam, to adjourn the meeting at 5:28 p.m. Motion carried.

Next Meeting: December 9, 2021 – Special Board Meeting – WebEx

Respectfully submitted

Ken Fuller, PE, Director