BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS & LAND SURVEYORS

Washington On-Site Wastewater Designer/Inspector Law Review Exam

Submit this completed exam with your application online or by mail.

For questions or help email engineers@brpels.wa.gov or call (360) 664-1575.

Retakes may be scanned and emailed to: engineers@brpels.wa.gov

Full Name

Choose the best answer. Please select only one answer per question. Passing score is 80%.

1. Which of the following is NOT included in the practice of on-site wastewater design?

- a. Analysis of soil types.
- □ b. Establish property boundaries.
- □ c. Knowledge of treatment technologies.
- □ d. Integration of collection systems.

Reference: RCW 18.210

- 2. A designer with an expired license may:
 - a. Continue work if it was started before the license expired.
 - \Box b. Continue all work but not sign the plans until renewed.
 - \Box c. Continue practice as long as the license is renewed within 90 days.
 - d. Not practice until license is renewed.

Reference: RCW 18.210

- 3. A designer who performs on-site designs after their license is expired is guilty of:
 - □ a. Aiding and abetting unlicensed practice.
 - b. Unprofessional conduct.
 - □ c. No violation if license is renewed within 90 days.
 - \Box d. Criminal fraud as a class felony.

Reference: RCW 18.210

- 4. The license of an on-site designer may be suspended immediately if the licensee:
 - a. Has performed work outside of Washington State.
 - b. Is non-compliant with a support order.
 - \Box c. Has stamped and sealed a design performed by another licensee.
 - □ d. Has not renewed the license over 90 days.

Reference: RCW 18.210

- 5. An application for licensure as an on-site designer must:
 - a. Be supported by evidence of a performance bond.
 - □ b. Be supported by 6 years of qualifying experience.
 - □ c. Be supported by at least two verifications of experience.
 - □ d. Be supported by 2 years of post-secondary education.

Reference: RCW 18.210

- 6. For on-site design and inspection experience acquired outside the state of Washington to be deemed satisfactory for licensure within Washington State:
 - a. The experience must be in a region that has geology similar to that of Washington State.
 - b. The work must be of complexity understandable by the industry.
 - \Box c. The work should be independently verified by the Board.

☐ d. The work must have been supervised by an on-site designer licensed in Washington State. Reference: RCW 18.210

- 7. Which of the following constitutes certification that a plan was prepared by a licensee under Chapter 18.210 RCW?
 - a. Signature by local health official.
 - □ b. Signature and stamp by licensed designer.
 - c. Seal and signature by a certified inspector.
 d. Final approval stamp by local health official.
 - Reference: RCW 18.210
- 8. A designer who fails to renew their license within two years of its date of expiration is required to reestablish an active license by:
 - □ a. Paying the equivalent to three years of renewal fees.
 - □ b. Must reapply as a new applicant.
 - □ c. Obtain an additional fifteen hours of PDH.
 - d. Making written request for license reinstatement.
 - Reference: RCW 18.210
- 9. All of the following are considered a gross misdemeanor EXCEPT?
 - a. Attempting to use the license or seal of another.
 - b. Designing an OSS that exceeded 3500 gal/day.
 - □ c. Practice as a designer with a suspended license.
 - □ d. Purport to be a licensee without having a license.
 - Reference: RCW 18.210
- 10. Other than on-site designers who are also required to take the on-site written exam?
 - a. All operation and maintenance consultants.
 - □ b. Professional engineers.
 - c. Public Works Department employees.
 d. Employees of local health jurisdictions.
 - Reference: RCW 18.210
- 11. Sanctions may be imposed on a licensee after an investigation if they are found to have:
 - a. Worked without professional liability insurance.
 - □ b. A suspended driver license.
 - □ c. Inspection vehicle registration has expired.
 - □ d. Intentionally falsified information used in design of an on-site system.
 - Reference: RCW 18.235
- 12. Certificate of competency holders are not allowed to:
 - a. Review on-site wastewater systems.
 - □ b. Design on-site wastewater systems.
 - □ c. Supervise non-certified individuals.
 - □ d. Inspect on-site wastewater systems.

Reference: RCW 18.210, RCW 70.118

- 13. The disciplinary authority over on-site wastewater designers is:
 - □ a. State Department of Health.
 - b. State Department of Licensing On-Site Advisory Committee.
 - □ c. Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors.
 - □ d. State Department of Licensing.

Reference: RCW 18.235

- 14. A finding against a licensed on-site designer of unprofessional conduct under Chapter 18.235 RCW can result in all of the following EXCEPT:
 - a. Peer review and/or monitoring of practice.
 - □ b. A fine of up to \$1,000 per violation.
 - c. Restriction or limits of practice.
 d. Censure or reprimand of licensee.

Reference: RCW 18.235

- 15. Which of the following constitute unprofessional conduct?
 - a. Failure to provide a written response to a complaint.
 - □ b. Failure to execute a contract before providing services.
 - c. Filing a formal complaint against a Board member.
 - □ d. Renewal of a license over 90 days after expiration.
 - Reference: RCW 18.235
- 16. In adhering to the Rules of Profesional Practice the licensee must:
 - a. Only seal documents prepared by them or those under their direct supervision.
 - □ b. Maintain competency in codes and regulations for on-site systems.
 - □ c. Must inform employers or clients of unsafe conditions.
 - \Box d. All of the above.

Reference: WAC 196-33

- 17. Which of the following information is NOT included on the seal for a licensed designer?
 - \Box a. Expiration date.
 - b. Certificate/License number.
 - □ c. "State of Washington."
 - □ d. "Licensed Designer."

Reference: WAC 196-33

- 18. Which of the following is NOT part of the Rules of Professional Practice?
 - a. Licensee shall be objective and truthful at all times.
 - \Box b. Licensee shall practice in those areas where they are competent.
 - \Box c. Licensee shall carry their seal with them at all times.

□ d. Licensee shall alert their clients when a project will not meet expectations.

Reference: WAC 196-33

- 19. According to Rules for Professional Practice under what circumstances can an on-site designer serve as an expert witness?
 - □ a. When the designer has been subpoenaed by his client.
 - b. When the trial is in another state.
 - \Box c. When the designer's opinion is founded upon knowledge of facts and honest conviction.
 - \Box d. When the designer receives a retainer before testimony.

Reference: WAC 196-33

- 20. Which of the following statements are NOT true about direct supervision?
 - □ a. A designer may maintain control of a project via email.
 - □ b. A designer may review and stamp a design done by a homeowner.
 - □ c. Direct supervision requires providing personal direction and oversight.
 - \Box d. Facsimiles or cell phones can be used to supervise subordinates.

Reference: WAC 196-33

- 21. Why are professional development hours (PDH) required according to WAC 196-34?
 - a. To maintain competency.
 - □ b. To improve a licensee's recordkeeping skills.
 - \Box c. To increase the complexity of on-site treatment systems.
 - □ d. To protect groundwater.

Reference: WAC 196-34

- 22. Which of the following is NOT a qualifying activity for continuing education credits?
 - a. Self study.
 - b. Attendance at a Board meeting.
 - c. Membership and/or attendance in service club meetings.
 - d. Membership in professional/technical societies.

Reference: WAC 196-34

- 23. Which of the following is the correct statement about continuing education requirements for designers?
 - \Box a. Designers must gain 20 units per year to renew their license.
 - b. Designers are exempt if they are also a registered sanitarian.
 - □ c. Designers are exempt if they are active in designing systems.

☐ d. Designers must report hours when audited by the Board. Reference: WAC 196-34

- 24. What activities DO NOT qualify as PDH credits:
 - a. Attendance at social gatherings.
 - □ b. Attendance at Board meetings.
 - \Box c. Obtaining a patent.

□ d. Activity involving substantial and organized peer interaction.

Reference: WAC 196-34

- 25. Which of the following are TRUE statements about an inactive license?
 - a. The licensee must have reached the age of 65.
 - \Box b. The licensee must be active status at the time of application.
 - □ c. The licensee may return to active status by calling the Board offices.
 - □ d. The licensee signs an affirmation they are not engaged in practice.

Reference: WAC 196-34

I declare under penalty of perjury under the law of Washington that I have been the sole person to complete the above exam of Washington State law and rule as it pertains to the practice of On-Site Design/Inspection.

TYPE or PRINT Name		
X		
Signature		

Date and place

RCW 18.210, WAC 196, RCW 18.235